The Bible: Funeral Script or Lively Hope?

by Sharon Merhalski

“The Bible is not a script for a funeral service, but it is the record of God always bringing life where we expected to find death. Everywhere it is the story of resurrection.”

This quote caused me to stop all activity around me and sit still with God. I think it would be a perfect opening statement of a book on the Christian life…ALL of the Christian life: Home, church, school, work…both relationships and activities.

This passage of God’s Word filled my heart as I listened to God:

1Peter chapter 1
:3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, which according to his abundant mercy hath begotten us again unto a lively hope by the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead,
:4 To an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, and that fadeth not away, reserved in heaven for you,
:5 Who are kept by the power of God through faith unto salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.
:6 Wherein ye greatly rejoice, though now for a season, if need be, ye are in heaviness through manifold temptations:
:7 That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ:
:8 Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory:

As I sat with God I sensed in my heart a question: What do I allow to enter my heart to nurture my spirit? Do I choose to fill my ears and read with my eyes the Bible spoken, taught, sung, written as a funeral script or a lively hope? Do I leave church rejoicing “with joy unspeakable and full of glory” because I am full of lively hope? Or do I leave more downtrodden from the complexities of life than when I entered the church? Do I close the book cover on that Christian best seller renewed in lively hope given by His glorious resurrection or drowning in morose feelings of being worthless and deserving of Hell? Do I enter praise and worship with the Christian music I listen to…or a depressive hole?

We are affected by all of the activities we choose to enter into…and our spirits will be affected accordingly.

Jude 1:20 But ye, beloved, building up yourselves on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy Ghost,
Jude 1:21 Keep yourselves in the love of God, looking for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ unto eternal life.

“The Bible is not a script for a funeral service, but it is the record of God always bringing life where we expected to find death. Everywhere it is the story of resurrection.”

Published in: on July 14, 2009 at 3:16 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://newhopeoutreach.wordpress.com/2009/07/14/the-bible-funeral-script-or-lively-hope/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

