“a mourning female captive”

In my post a few days ago I wrote: Is the gate about to fly open? Several hours later a woman who abides in Christ and is so used by God in the lives of others, called me on the telephone to chat. She had not read my last post…or any of this blog. After we chatted for a few minutes about general stuff she felt led of God to open her Bible and read Isaiah 60 to me. As she read I knew God was using her to be ‘Himself with skin on’ to speak to my internal distress.

Matthew Henry defines this chapter as “The glories of the church of God.” And those of us who are children of God are the church…the church is not a building.

Isaiah 60:1 “Arise, shine; for thy light is come, and the glory of the LORD is risen upon thee.” [JFB Commentary 1. Arise–from the dust in which thou hast been sitting as a mourning female captive (Isa 3:26 52:1,2). shine–or, “be enlightened; for thy light cometh”; impart to others the spiritual light now given thee (Isa 60:3).

Isaiah 60:11 “Therefore thy gates shall be open continually; they shall not be shut day nor night; that men may bring unto thee the forces of the Gentiles, and that their kings may be brought.” [JFB Commentary 11. (Re 21:25). The gates are ever open to receive new offerings and converts (Isa 26:2 Ac 14:27 Re 3:8). In time of peace the gates of a city are open: so, under the Prince of peace, there shall be no need of barring gates against invaders.]

When I added the Jamison-Fawcette and Brown commentary notes…….verse 1 made me chuckle “mourning female captive”…yep that seemed to define me in the last post…and for the last few months. And verse 11–I read as my having no need of living with the gates closed to the holding pen confining me from my race in this period of my life.

For the following 24 hours after my friend read this chapter of Scripture to me God used verse 11 as the Balm of Gilead and healed me/delivered me from my frustration and…some fear. Verse 1 and verse 11 revealed my purpose in this life: To live my life so others can see Christ in me and share with others all that God IS, all Scripture, His Gospel and all He has personally done for me and taught me…and to do so “in the power of His resurrection” and continually asking to “be filled with the Holy Spirit.” And I realized…this is a huge responsibility, not to be carried out in one church, one place or an isolated ministry, but 24/7 in every place my feet trod and to every person I meet.

Published in: on March 5, 2009 at 8:16 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://newhopeoutreach.wordpress.com/2009/03/05/a-mourning-female-captive/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

