Rude Christians

My friend told me this morning that she is trying very hard not to get frustrated with rude Christians. I told her it is impossible not to get frustrated with them…for sometimes we are “them.” However, some days I honestly want to throw up my hands and scream, “Jesus didn’t treat people like that!!!”

I often wonder what has happened to the words “Christian character.” Some days I come home from being in a meeting or situation where there are a lot of non-Christian people and have to ask the Lord why they are too-often nicer to be around than a lot of Christians I know? Can someone tell me when the words polite, kind, encourage, sweet, considerate and compassion were removed from the vocabularies of many Christian people? These words surely have not been removed from the Bible!

Some days it seems like devoted Christian people think that conversation means it’s time to reprove and rebuke…glory to God! Too often I hear Christians say, in various ways, “I just say what I think- and people have to take it for what it is.” The Bible says a fool utters all of his mind and God says the following in Psalms…something I pray often (words in parenthesis from the Strong’s Concordance):

Psalm 64:2 “Hide me from the secret counsel of the wicked (those who harm, show self friendly and hurt, afflict, break in pieces); from the insurrection of the workers of iniquity:
Psalm 64:3 “Who whet (prick, sharp) their tongue like a sword, and bend their bows to shoot their arrows, even bitter (angry, heavy) words:” [Paraphrase: Their words cut like swords, and their cruel remarks sting like sharp arrows. ]

When my children were very young one of the first Bible verses they learned was “Be ye kind one to another.” I think many Christians need to go back to toddler Sunday School and learn this verse again and then apply honey to their speech…for Jesus sake! — Sharon Merhalski

“Pleasant words are as an honeycomb, sweet to the soul, and health to the bones.” Proverbs 16:24
“How sweet are thy words unto my taste! yea, sweeter than honey to my mouth!” Psalm 119:103

Published in: on April 24, 2009 at 7:02 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://newhopeoutreach.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/rude-christians/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. About rude christians. I see it all the time it breaks my heart.I think a big part of the problem is that most christians don’t read their bibles if they did they would realice how their words cut. It’s not enough to go to church you need to read the words to truely find the right path. GOD BLESS

  2. I was recently offended by a very rude Christian, who had the nerve to insult my intelligence using a Bible verse as her weapon of choice. I was not insulted that she used a Bible verse against me, but I was hurt that she would judge me in such a way as to relate me with the devil, the all-evil being that no self-respecting Christian would want to be near. I thought she was a nice girl, and I was getting to know her as a potential friend. Not being a Christian myself, I automatically assumed that this rude Christian might represent all of Christianity, which is totally uncalled for and irrational for me to assume. I know that everyone has the potential to be rude. I am sorry that it is so easy to stereotype groups of people by the actions of one individual. I hope to remember this lesson.

  3. I live in a four-plex with 5 other Christians in the other 3 apartments. Sad to say, they are the rudest apartment neighbors I have ever lived around. They have thrown junk – tires, recyclables that are not recycled all over. They do laundry in the middle of the night. Their 5 dogs bark, bite kids, and the smaller dogs yap all day and/or anytime during the day and night. They store their friends vehicles (from their church)and pay nothing for storage. They sneak dogs and extra tenants to live here for nothing. They do not pick up their dog poop which is left out the front door. They have a false sense of entitlement and believe they can be rude and loud and inconsiderate of any neighbors, near or close by. I never want to be a Christian, ever…

    • I agree with you. If that behavior was the way a real Christian acted I would want nothing to do with it either. But that type of life is certainly nowhere sanctioned as appropriate for someone who calls themselves Christian. A person who has any understanding of the identity they claim to share would be unable to act in ways you describe, which are the complete antithesis of “Christianity.” I’m sorry you’re being offered such a horrible example in the name of Christ.

      — Danni


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

